Hide This

FREEHER HealthToolkit

HER Health Toolkit

Sign up for EmpowHER updates and you'll receive our
FREE HER Health Toolkit

Celiac Disease

Get Email Updates

Related Checklists

Celiac Disease Guide

Christine Jeffries

Have a question? We're here to help. Ask the Community.

ASK

Health Newsletter

Receive the latest and greatest in women's health and wellness from EmpowHER - for free!

Amaranth For Those with Celiac Disease or Gluten Sensitivity

By Jody Smith HERWriter
 
Rate This
Amaranth For Those with Celiac Disease or Gluten Sensitivity 3 5 10
try amaranth if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity
iStockphoto/Thinkstock

If you have celiac disease or you're just sensitive to gluten, now is a good time to browse through the many substitutes available for the usual wheat, barley and rye. Not all substitutes are actually grains.

Consider amaranth. Never heard of it before? Neither have many other people. Amaranth is not well-known but it should be.

Amaranth is increasingly finding its way into foods for the gluten-impaired. It's already being used in baked goods like breads and cakes.
It's an unsung hero that everyone who has celiac disease or gluten intolerance needs to hear about.

Amaranth is not a grain, it's a seed belonging to the Amaranthaceae family. Those with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity can use it as a substitute for glutenous grains however.

Unlike many grains, amaranth has a high lysine content. Most grains have little or no lysine, an amino acid.

But amaranth is considered a complete protein because of its lysine content, along with the other essential amino acids. Protein content hovers around 13 to 14 percent.

Amaranth has the most protein of any gluten-free grain, on a par of protein in milk. It also contains more protein than wheat.

Researchers at the Institute of Nutrition of Central America and Panama at Guatemala obtained results that indicated amaranth's protein was comparable to animal products like cheese.

Its protein was also considered to be superior to most vegetable-source proteins. Amaranth is also high in calcium, iron, fiber, fatty acids, magnesium, phosphorus and potassium. Grains don't contain vitamin C but amaranth does.

Nutritionally, amaranth stands tall. But despite its stellar attributes, it shouldn't stand alone.

This is because it is so very absorbent when it's used without other flours. Bakery items made just with amaranth will produce dense, heavy concoctions that resemble paperweights and doorstops more than bread or cookies.

This just means you'll need to try your hand at experimentation with other gluten-free flours until you find a combination that is lighter and more edible.

Amaranth is believed to date back to the Aztec civilization according to wisegeek.com.

Add a Comment1 Comments

World Vitae

Amaranth leaves with their purple veins are very high in iron, too--a great thing for women. They can be stir-fried, added to stews, or mixed in with other salad greens.

August 13, 2012 - 2:46pm
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy

We value and respect our HERWriters' experiences, but everyone is different. Many of our writers are speaking from personal experience, and what's worked for them may not work for you. Their articles are not a substitute for medical advice, although we hope you can gain knowledge from their insight.

Improved

1763 Health

Changed

666 Lives

Saved

529 Lives
6 lives impacted in the last 24 hrs Learn More

Take Our Featured Health Poll

Do you have gluten intolerance or celiac disease? :
View Results