Facebook Pixel
EmpowHER Guest
ask: 

Can vegans drink alcohol?

By Anonymous March 17, 2016 - 8:20am
 
Rate This
Is Alcohol Vegan?

Add a Comment1 Comments

Guide

Hello Anonymous,

Welcome to EmpowHER. Thank you for such an interesting question.

To research an answer for you, I went to the website, vegan.com. To my surprise, many beers and wines are processed using animal products, such egg whites. Unfortunately these ingredients are never listed on the labels, since alcohol is commonly exempt from the labeling requirements of other food products.

Fortunately, virtually every brand of hard liquor—bourbon, whiskey, vodka, gin, and rum—is vegan. Nearly all distilled spirits are vegan except for cream-based liqueurs and products that mention honey on the label.

Here are some of the most popular vegan alcohol brands:

Liquor

Absolut
Bacardi Rum
Grey Goose
Hangar 1
Malibu Rum
Svedka
Skyy Vodka
Beer

Budweiser (except their horrifying Clamato variety)
Coors and Coors Light
Miller Lite, High-Life, & Genuine Draft
Pabst Blue Ribbon
Sierra Nevada Pale Ale
Yuengling
Wine

Charles Shaw (red wines only)
Frey Vineyards
The Vegan Vine
Red Truck Wines
Yellowtail (red wines only; not white or rosé)

Regards,
Maryann

March 17, 2016 - 8:57am
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy
Add a Comment

All user-generated information on this site is the opinion of its author only and is not a substitute for medical advice or treatment for any medical conditions. Members and guests are responsible for their own posts and the potential consequences of those posts detailed in our Terms of Service.

Diet & Nutrition

Get Email Updates

Diet & Nutrition Guide

Have a question? We're here to help. Ask the Community.

ASK

Health Newsletter

Receive the latest and greatest in women's health and wellness from EmpowHER - for free!