Facebook Pixel

The Psychological Stages of Cancer

Rate This
Cancer related image Photo: Getty Images

Trying to get someone in this place to see anything otherwise, however, is like trying to make a blind man see.

When there is no more bargaining to be done, the depression can be overwhelming—like a feeling that one has been tossed into a lonely, black pit. Self-pity can become the focus of the day, or the week, depending on the circumstances.

The final stage, acceptance, is something I believe can be debatable. The definition of acceptance is receiving favorable reception. Resignation may be a more appropriate term for many.

We are each the product of our own reality, and as such, we each will process these stages in different ways and over varying lengths of time. What I believe is most important through each and every one of these stages is the support of others. Humans need to be connected to one another.

If you have the opportunity to be that supportive figure, embrace it, along with the knowledge that you are fulfilling one of the most important roles in that person’s life and death.






Reviewed July 6, 2011
by Michele Blacksberg R.N.
Edited by Kate Kunkel

Add a CommentComments

There are no comments yet. Be the first one and get the conversation started!

Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy

We value and respect our HERWriters' experiences, but everyone is different. Many of our writers are speaking from personal experience, and what's worked for them may not work for you. Their articles are not a substitute for medical advice, although we hope you can gain knowledge from their insight.