Facebook Pixel

Dairy Allergy Takes the Mmmm Out of Milk

By HERWriter
 
Rate This
Food Allergies related image Photo: Getty Images

The most obvious foods to avoid include milk, cheese, yogurt, butter, sour cream, and ice cream. The difficulty with dairy allergy is that dairy products or the components of milk are found in many foods that you might not think of. Even foods that are labeled as “dairy-free” may contain a dairy component. Casein or casein protein are common ingredients in many processed foods. Be wary of chocolate, salad dressings, soups, deli meats, and canned tuna. Also watch out for snack foods with butter or cheese flavoring. These ingredients may contain dairy even if they say they are “artificially flavored”.

Dairy Substitutes
There are many dairy substitutes available at the grocery store and in health food stores. Read the labels carefully as some of these also contain small amounts of dairy products. Soy milk, rice milk, and nut milk are just a few of the substitutes available. The flavors and textures (creamy or thin) of these products tend to vary greatly by brand. You may want to sample different substitutes for different uses, such as using soy milk to make pancakes and rice or oat milk for lighter baked goods or to pour over cereal.

It is very important that you learn to recognize dairy products and their derivatives on product labels. Because milk or dairy is one of the top eight allergens in the United States, the Food and Drug Administration requires producers to clearly label all foods that contain dairy products. When purchasing dairy-free items you should also consider possible sources of cross-contamination. This can occur in the kitchen of a restaurant if the same utensils are used to prepare a food with dairy and one without. Cross-contamination happens in food processing plants if dairy-free foods are prepared using the same manufacturing equipment as foods containing dairy. It can also occur at the deli counter if the same slicer is used to cut meats and cheeses.

Some products that are derived from milk are considered safe foods for dairy allergy. Lactoferrin and Tagatose (Naturlose) are generally considered safe. Check with your doctor to make sure this is true for you before you use these products.

Add a CommentComments

There are no comments yet. Be the first one and get the conversation started!

Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy

We value and respect our HERWriters' experiences, but everyone is different. Many of our writers are speaking from personal experience, and what's worked for them may not work for you. Their articles are not a substitute for medical advice, although we hope you can gain knowledge from their insight.

Food Allergies

Get Email Updates

Related Checklists

Food Allergies Guide

Guide

Have a question? We're here to help. Ask the Community.

ASK

Health Newsletter

Receive the latest and greatest in women's health and wellness from EmpowHER - for free!