Facebook Pixel

Cerebral Palsy: Symptoms and Risks

By EmpowHER
Rate This

There are three main types of cerebral palsy:

1) Spastic
2) Non-spastic
3) Mixed

Spastic Cerebral Palsy - muscles continually contract so limbs are stiff and rigid. Reflexes can be exaggerated and movements are jerky.

Arms and legs can be affected as well as the tongue, mouth and pharynx, resulting in impaired speech, eating, breathing and swallowing. Conditions such as hip dislocation, scoliosis and other limb deformities are often associated with cerebral palsy and the stress of the spasticity.

Non-Spastic - characterized by decreased and/or fluctuating muscle tone with each form defined by the specific impairment(s). The most common characteristic is involuntary movement, which can be slow or fast, but can be repetitive and/or rhythmic. These movements can worsen with stress, but tend to diminish when resting.

Mixed - where a child’s impairments fall under both categories.


Add a CommentComments

There are no comments yet. Be the first one and get the conversation started!

Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy

Cerebral Palsy

Get Email Updates

Cerebral Palsy Guide

Have a question? We're here to help. Ask the Community.


Health Newsletter

Receive the latest and greatest in women's health and wellness from EmpowHER - for free!