Facebook Pixel

Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Definition & Overview


Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (CJD) is a rare, fatal, degenerative brain disorder characterized by rapidly progressive dementia and neuromuscular problems.

There are four types of CJD:

  • Sporadic (classical) CJD—most common type; usually affects people age 50 and older
  • Familial CJD—an inherited form of the disease
  • Iatrogenic CJD—contracted through medical procedures, such as injections of growth hormone or receipt of corneal transplants or dura mater implants from affected donors
  • New variant CJD (nvCJD) —relatively new form of CJD. It is caused by eating contaminated beef products, which may cause bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE). BSE is commonly known as mad cow disease. nvCJD differs from other forms of CJD because it affects younger people and has a longer average time course.

Please be aware that this information is provided to supplement the care provided by your physician. It is neither intended nor implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice. CALL YOUR HEALTHCARE PROVIDER IMMEDIATELY IF YOU THINK YOU MAY HAVE A MEDICAL EMERGENCY. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider prior to starting any new treatment or with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Copyright © 2019 EBSCO Publishing All rights reserved.

The Latest in Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Definition & Overview

ASK Your Health Question

It's FREE and you'll get a response within 24 hours


POST Info, Tips & Stories

Inspire others to learn from your experiences. Tell your story!

Get Email Updates

Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Guide

Have a question? We're here to help. Ask the Community.


Health Newsletter

Receive the latest and greatest in women's health and wellness from EmpowHER - for free!