Facebook Pixel

What's the Key to Your Heart? Learn Your Love Language

By HERWriter
Rate This
What's the Key to Your Heart? Get to Know Your Love Language arthurhidden/Fotolia

Do you feel most loved when you receive a special gift? Or does a hug mean more to you than anything wrapped in paper?

Answers to these and similar questions can be the first steps toward more fulfilling relationships or a happier marriage.

According to Dr. Gary Chapman, author of “The Five Love Languages,” everyone has a primary love language. These languages may be so different from each other that Chapman describes them as being “as different as Chinese from English.” (1)

Calling upon over 30 years of experience as a marriage counselor, Chapman identified five ways that people experience and understand emotional love. His five love languages are:

1) Words of affirmation

This includes compliments and verbal acknowledgements of personal characteristics like kindness and thanks for things done, such as taking out the trash.

2) Acts of service

Actions speak louder than words for some people. This may include washing dishes, painting a wall, or spending time with the kids.

3) Receiving gifts

For some people, receiving a gift is the surest sign that they are loved.

4) Quality time

This means focused, one-on-one time without distractions like the TV blaring in the background, or pauses to check Facebook posts. Quality time can happen at home after dinner when you unwind together, or on a date or vacation, away from children and responsibilities.

5)Physical touch

If this brought to mind the most intimate physical touch — sex — you’re on the right track. But just sex is not enough. Physical touch as a love language also means more casual contact including hugs, holding hands, and a gentle pat or kiss on the forehead.

Chapman describes every person’s need for love as an emotional “love tank.” When that tank is full, we feel loved and content. When the tank is empty, life may seem emotionally barren.

Knowing your own love language can help you explain to your partner what you need to feel loved. Knowing your partner’s love language gives you the tools you need to keep his or her love tank full.

1) The Five Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts. Gary Chapman. Northfield Publishing. Copyright 2010. book e-version chapter 1 pg 22.

2) The 5 Love Languages. Gary Chapman. Web. February 10, 2016.

3) Focus on the Family. Understanding the Five Love Languages. Gary Chapman. Web. February 10, 2016.

4) Focus on the Family. Learn to Speak Your Spouse’s Love Language. Gary Chapman. Web. February 10, 2016.

Add a CommentComments

There are no comments yet. Be the first one and get the conversation started!

Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy

We value and respect our HERWriters' experiences, but everyone is different. Many of our writers are speaking from personal experience, and what's worked for them may not work for you. Their articles are not a substitute for medical advice, although we hope you can gain knowledge from their insight.

Relationships & Family

Get Email Updates

Relationships & Family Guide

Have a question? We're here to help. Ask the Community.


Health Newsletter

Receive the latest and greatest in women's health and wellness from EmpowHER - for free!