Facebook Pixel

Lupus: Diagnosis, Symptoms and Risks

By EmpowHER
Rate This

There are actually four types of lupus: systemic lupus erythematosus, discoid lupus erythematosus, drug-induced lupus erythematosus and neonatal lupus.

Lupus can affect so many different organs it can be difficult to diagnosis because the symptoms can be so varied. Some cases of lupus are slow and progressive while others are sudden.

Systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) is the most common type that is expressed in patients. SLE affects several different organs in the body, such as the skin, kidneys, brain, blood, hearts or lungs.

Discoid lupus erythematosus, also called cutaneous lupus, affects only the skin and no other organ systems. The rash, which is circular in nature, is usually limited to the face, neck and scalp of the body.

Drug-induced lupus erythematosus is induced in a patient by taking certain medications. There is a genetic predisposition in the patient because not all people taking that medication suffer from lupus.


Add a CommentComments

There are no comments yet. Be the first one and get the conversation started!

Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy



Get Email Updates

Health Newsletter

Receive the latest and greatest in women's health and wellness from EmpowHER - for free!