Facebook Pixel

Lupus Types and Description

By EmpowHER
Rate This

Many times, lupus patients may develop a rash on the face which resembles a butterfly rash or wolf whiskers on the face. This rash is over the cheeks and across the bridge of the nose.

Lupus primarily affects women between the ages of 15-45. Men, children and babies can have lupus but their situations are rare and unusual. Also, women of color are two to three times more likely to develop lupus.

There are four types of lupus. Those four types of lupus include discoid or cutaneous (skin) lupus erythematosus, systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE), drug-induced erythematosus and neonatal lupus.

Discoid lupus is limited to the skin. However, approximately 10 percent of people who have discoid lupus may develop SLE (systemic lupus erythematosus).

SLE is the most serious and common type of lupus. Drug-induced erythematosus has the symptoms of lupus and is caused by medications.


Add a CommentComments

There are no comments yet. Be the first one and get the conversation started!

Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy



Get Email Updates

Health Newsletter

Receive the latest and greatest in women's health and wellness from EmpowHER - for free!