Facebook Pixel

Know Your Subtle Body Chakras

Rate This
Wellness related image Photo: Getty Images

Chakras are vortices of energy located inside our subtle, auric or astral body. These are energy systems whose images have been captured using hi-technology imagery such as holographic patterning and Kirlian photography. There are seven chakras that operate within each of us – the Coccyx Chakra (Mooladhar), the Sacral Chakra (Swadishtan), the Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipur), the Heart Chakra (Anahit), the Throat Chakra (Vishuddhi), the Brow Chakra (Ajan) and the Head Chakra (Sahasrar).

Chakras literally mean "wheels," as they are visible as wheels of energy in imagery, running from the base of the spine to the crown of our head, networking the body with more than 72,000 junctions. (Source: Acupuncture And The Chakra Energy System- Treating The cause of The Disease; Author: John R. Cross, FCSP, DrAc, SRP, MRSH; The Chakras, Pages 6-48)

The chakra system performs a wide variety of functions for the human body. I have outlined some of the basic functions:

1. The chakras allow energy to flow into and out of the aura (as they are openings). They thus allow exchange of energy with the Universal Energy Fields (UEF).
2. Energies of higher frequencies are transformed by the chakras into glandular hormonal output and this affects our whole body. Thus chakras opening to their full extent is vital for to attain a healthier human system through better channelization of UEF.
3. Chakras, which originate at the etheric body level, are also connected to physical and cellular structures through fine and subtle energy channels called nadis or auric fibers. They distribute the life force of the chakra into all the parts of our physical body.
4. This subdivision of the chakras called auric fibers is also interconnected with our nervous system. They thus affect the quality and type of nerve transmission within the CNS and the peripheral nerves. Dysfunction at this level causes pathological changes in the nervous system.
5. As chakras are located at every major endocrine system gland, they also activate the glands such as pancreas, thymus, thyroid, pituitary, etc.
6. Chakras are also associated with the function of perception.

Add a Comment2 Comments

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for your kind words of encouragement! Much appreciate them.


February 20, 2011 - 8:15pm
EmpowHER Guest

Those are some great inspirations. The last one is very clean. Thank,s for nice sharing

wholesale nike shoes
Nike Ari Jordan
Cheap Nike Shoes
nike outlet

February 20, 2011 - 7:33pm
Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy
Add a Comment

We value and respect our HERWriters' experiences, but everyone is different. Many of our writers are speaking from personal experience, and what's worked for them may not work for you. Their articles are not a substitute for medical advice, although we hope you can gain knowledge from their insight.