Facebook Pixel

Understanding the Different Stages of Sleep

Rate This

Sleep is essential to maintain good health. While the ]]>CDC]]> recommends that adults get seven to nine hours of sleep a night, the type of sleep is also important, meaning that the sleep cycle enters all the four stages NREM sleep and REM sleep. ]]>This image shows what this looks like]]>.

Stage One: Drowsiness

Joanna Saisan MSW, Tina de Benedictis, Ph.D., Suzanne Barston, and Robert Segal, M.A., authors of the article ]]>“Understanding Sleep: Deep Sleep, REM Sleep, Cycles, Stages, and Needs,”]]> state that the first stage of sleep, or drowsiness, lasts between five and ten minutes. During stage one, the person can be awakened without much effort; it becomes more difficult in the later stages of sleep. Eye movement is minimal, as there is less muscle activity. ]]>The University of Washington]]> adds that the EEG rate for stage one sleep is 6-8 Hz, which is a low amplitude; in comparison, the EEG rate for the waking stage is 8-25 Hz, which also has a low amplitude. Stage one is the first stage of NREM sleep, or non-rapid eye movement sleep.

Add a CommentComments

There are no comments yet. Be the first one and get the conversation started!

Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy

We value and respect our HERWriters' experiences, but everyone is different. Many of our writers are speaking from personal experience, and what's worked for them may not work for you. Their articles are not a substitute for medical advice, although we hope you can gain knowledge from their insight.

Sleep Disorders

Get Email Updates

Sleep Disorders Guide

HERWriter Guide

Have a question? We're here to help. Ask the Community.


Health Newsletter

Receive the latest and greatest in women's health and wellness from EmpowHER - for free!